Feedstuffs is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

ADSA presents 2013 award winners, new board of directors

ADSA award winner were recognized during JAM 2013 in Indianapolis, Ind.

Congratulations to all of the 2013 ADSA Award Winners who were recognized at the ADSA Awards program on Wednesday evening of JAM 2013 in Indianapolis, Ind.

2013 ADSA Fellows

David K. Beede                                                 Robert J. Collier

F. Xavier Malcata                                              L. Dale Van Vleck

Alltech Inc. Graduate Student Paper Publication Award - Kevin Herrick

American Feed Industry Association Award - Michael VandeHaar

Cargill Animal Nutrition Young Scientist Award - Trevor DeVries

DeLaval Dairy Extension Award Jud Heinrichs

Elanco Award for Excellence in Dairy Science - Marina von Keyserlingk

Hoard’s Dairyman Youth Development Award - Lee Kilmer

International Dairy Foods Association Research Award in Dairy Foods Processing - Carmen Moraru

J. L. Lush Award in Animal Breeding - Filippo Miglior

Lallemand Animal Nutrition Award Barry Bradford

Purina Animal Nutrition Teaching Award in Dairy Production - Peter Erickson

Milk Industry Foundation Teaching Award in Dairy Science - Kayanush (Kai) Aryana

National Milk Producers Federation Richard M. Hoyt Award - Sha Tao

Nutrition Professionals Inc. Applied Dairy Nutrition Award - Maurice Eastridge

Zoetis Physiology Award - Rupert Bruckmaier

DuPont Pioneer Forage Award - Mike Brouk

West Agro Inc. Award - Herman Barkema

Genevieve Christen Distinguished Undergraduate Student Award - Jordan Hanson

ADSA Foundation Scholar Award in Dairy Foods - Hasmukh Patel

ADSA Foundation Scholar Award in Production-  Isis Kanevsky-Mullarky

JDS Most-Cited Awards:

  • Dairy Foods - F. Xavier Malcata
  • Physiology and Management - Daryl Nydam
  • Nutrition, Feeding, and Calves-  C. Alan Rotz
  • Genetics and Breeding - Ignacio Aguilar

ADSA Award of Honor - David Barbano

ADSA Distinguished Service Award - Nagendra Shah


2013 ADSA Graduate Student Award Winners

National Milk Producers Federation Paper Presentation Contest in Dairy Production: MS Division

First: Lucas Krueger, Iowa State University Second: Brittney Willing, Virginia Tech Third: Robb Bender, University of Wisconsin-Madison

National Milk Producers Federation Paper Presentation Contest in Dairy Production: PhD Division

First: Kai Yuan, Kansas State University Second: Nilusha Malmuthuge, University of Alberta Third: Eduardo de Souza Ribeiro, University of Florida

Dairy Research Institute Graduate Student Paper Presen­tation Contest in Dairy Foods Research

First: Maneesha Mohan, University of Tennessee Second: Maricarmen Estrada, University of Nebraska Third: Justin Banach, Iowa State University

Schreiber Foods Graduate Student Poster Presentation Contest in Dairy Foods Research

First: Nuria Garcia-Fernandez, South Dakota State University Second: Curtis Park, North Carolina State University Third: Gerui Li, Iowa State University

Purina Animal Nutrition Graduate Student Poster Contest in Dairy Production: MS Division

First: Marie Iwaniuk, University of Maryland Second: Clayton Stoffel, University of Wisconsin-Madison Third: Hannah Tucker, Virginia Tech

Purina Animal Nutrition Graduate Student Poster Contest in Dairy Production: PhD Division

First: Maris McCarthy, Cornell University Second: Katherine Boesche, Purdue University Third: Sanjeewa Ranathunga, South Dakota State University


Congratulations to the ADSA Board of Directors for 2013–2014

President Scott Rankin

Vice President Al Kertz

Director (Dairy Foods) Susan Duncan

Director (Dairy Foods) Rafael Jimenez-Flores

Director (Dairy Foods) Karen Schmidt

Director (Production) Geoff Dahl

Director (Production) Lou Armentano

Director (Production) Leo Timms

 Past President Ken McGuffey

Editor-in-Chief Roger D. Shanks

Executive Director Peter Studney

Secretary-Treasurer Mike Schutz

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.