dairy cows

Members named to National Dairy Board

USDA announces appointment of 12 members, with terms beginning immediately.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced the appointment of 12 members to the National Dairy Promotion & Research Board. All appointees’ terms will begin immediately and end Oct. 31, 2019.

Newly appointed members are: Arlene J. Vander Eyk (Region 2), Stephen D. Maddox (Region 2), Manuel C. Caballero (Region 3), Connie M. Seefeldt (Region 6), Bobby L. Combs (Region 10), Jennifer L. Heltzel (Region 11) and Bret J. Bossard (Region 12).

Reappointed to serve second terms were: Brian O. Medeiros (Region 2), Carol L. Ahlem (Region 2), Christopher J. Brazil (Region 2), Eddie S. Schaap (Region 4) and Cheryl L. Chapin (Region 9).

The Dairy Board was established under the Dairy Production Stabilization Act of 1983 to develop and administer a coordinated program of promotion, research and nutrition education. The 37-member Dairy Board is authorized to design programs to strengthen the dairy industry’s position in domestic and foreign markets.

Appointees were selected from nominations submitted by eligible producer organizations, general farm organizations and qualified dairy products promotion, research or nutrition education programs. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) monitors the operation of the Dairy Board.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards. They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity for participating stakeholders.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.