AFIA board advocates for feed industry issues; installs new leadership

Leigh Ann Sayen, CEO of The Peterson Company, will now lead the AFIA Board of Directors through April 30, 2025, and Dan Meagher, president and CEO of Novus International, Inc., will serve as Board chair elect.

May 20, 2024

2 Min Read

The American Feed Industry Association’s (AFIA) Board of Directors wrapped up its annual spring meeting in Arlington, Va., last Thursday, where they advocated for key policy priorities impacting the animal food industry on Capitol Hill and conducted other official business, including installing new Board leadership and directors. 

The directors met with over 35 U.S. Senate and House offices, advocating for several legislative priorities on behalf of the total feed industry, including the Innovative Feed Enhancement and Economic Development Act (Innovative FEED Act) (S. 1842/H.R. 6687), Enteric Methane Innovation Tools for Lower Emissions and Sustainable Stock Act (EMIT LESS Act) (S.4056), Securing American Agriculture Act (H.R. 8003), Sound Science for Farmers Act (S. 3719) and the farm bill.

 During the official business meeting, the AFIA Board of Directors recognized outgoing chair Carlos Gonzalez, Ph.D., vice president of global regulatory affairs at Hill’s Pet Nutrition, Inc., for his leadership over the past year. Gonzalez now transitions into one year of service as chair of the Institute for Feed Education and Research’s (IFEEDER) Board of Trustees.

The AFIA Board installed Leigh Ann Sayen, chief executive officer of The Peterson Company, as its new chair, effective through the end of AFIA’s fiscal year April 30, 2025. It also voted to accept the nomination of Dan Meagher, president and chief executive officer of Novus International, Inc., to become chair-elect of the organization for the 2025-26 AFIA fiscal year.

The Board also confirmed the appointments of the following individuals to serve three-year terms: Todd Armstrong, Ph.D., Phibro Animal Health Corporation; Eric Arnold, Bill Barr & Company, Inc.; Mariano Berdegue, Ph.D., Cargill Animal Nutrition; Kristin Bonham, dsm-firmenich; Nicholas Braden, Wilbur-Ellis Pet Nutrition; Brent Brinegar, Lincoln Premium Poultry; Christi Brown, Zinpro Corporation; Katie Cook, Elanco Animal Health; Raj Kasula, D.V.M., Wenger Feeds, LLC; Sean McNear, Blue Buffalo Company, Ltd; Terry Medemblik, Walinga USA; David Probert, International Ingredient Corporation; Chad Risley, Ph.D., Berg +Schmidt America, LLC; Apoorva Shah, SAM Nutrition; and David Stephens, Seminole Feed. 

The Board approved eight nominated individuals as additional members to its 15-member AFIA Executive Committee, which now includes: Arnold; Holly Bellmund, GLC Minerals, LLC; Berdegue; Rob Brock, Westway Feed Products LLC; Julio Contreras, Sweet Manufacturing Company; Cook; Gonzalez; Jonathan Griffin, Balchem Corporation; Meagher; Medemblik; Matt Podany, EBM Manufacturing; Mark Poeschl, Furst-McNess Company; Daniel Rice, Western Milling; Kevin Schluender, Land O’Lakes; and Karl Thoene, CHS Inc.

The AFIA said it thanks the following outgoing Board members for their three years of service: John Akridge, MFA Incorporated; Scott Anderson, California Pellet Mill; Kerry Courchaine, Darling Ingredients, Inc.; Gerry Daignault, The Maschhoffs LLC; Brandon Dacey, Kemin Industries Inc.; Mike Gauss, Kent Nutrition Group, Inc.; Frank Goode, ILC Resources; David Hansen, Selko USA LLC; Scott Lovin, AgState; Lisa Norton, BioZyme Incorporated; Gisele Santos Bin, BASF Corporation; Ted Williams, D&D Ingredients LLC; and Wesley Wilson, Ag ProVision, LLC.

The complete 48-member list of directors can be found on AFIA's website.

Subscribe to Our Newsletters
Feedstuffs is the news source for animal agriculture

You May Also Like